2006 Results

Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition
2006 Contest Winners Announced

First Place

Beth McMurray of San Mateo, California, for “Mascot”

Second Place

Amaali Lokuge of Camberwell, Victoria, Australia, for “Phoenix”

Third Place

Matthew C. Johnson of Clarkston, Georgia, for “An Altogether Polite Desperation


(listed in no particular order)

  • Bryan Godfrey of Girard, Pennsylvania, for “Citizens of Atlantis”
  • Jim Bartels of La Jolla, California, for “Olympics”
  • Jeni Schwagerman of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, for “Objects of Prayer”
  • Judith Manchester of Rutland, Vermont, for “Old Lily”
  • T. C. Hand of Lexington, Kentucky, for “Soar”
  • Steve Wade of Pula, Cagliari, Sardinia, for “The Cringer”
  • Laurel Ostrow of St. Paul, Minnesota, for “Too Many Cats: 1963”
  • MaryLee McNeal of Palo Alto, California, for “In The Night”
  • Shirleko Dai of Berkeley, California, for “All of Us”
  • Philippa Kelly of Berkeley, California, for “The Captain of the Ship”
  • Lisa Allen of Atlanta, Georgia, for “Daddy’s Milk”
  • Kay Miller of Park City, Utah, for “Getaway”
  • Carol Wobig of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, for “The Haircut”
  • Eileen Bordy of San Carlos, California, for “The Sauna”
  • Joanne Peterson of Port Townsend, Washington, for “A Gamble”
  • Pierre Hauser of New York City, New York, for “Girlyman”
  • Richard J. Savastio of Key West, Florida, for “Jake and Henna”
There are currently no comments.