2000 Results

Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition
2000 Contest Winners Announced

First Place

Dale Dapkins of Key West, Florida, for “Church of the Bunny”

Second Place

Laura Wilson of Libertyville, Illinois, for “Secrets”

Third Place

Louis Berger of New York, New York, for “Smoke Screen”

Kermit “Shine” Forbes Award

Penny Griffith of Carlisle, Pennsylvania


(listed in no particular order)

  • Paul Brock of Durham, North Carolina, for “Lucky Bullet”
  • Susan Choy of Chanhassen, Minnesota, for “The Fish Bride”
  • Jocelyn Jane Cox of Tuckahoe, New York, for “Evil Business”
  • Gregg Cusick of Durham, North Carolina, for “Photos I’m Not In”
  • Steve Fayer of Boston, Massachusetts, for “The Hi-Flyer”
  • L. Foster of Lafayette, Indiana, for “The Bee Keeper”
  • Michael J.E. Hanson of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, for “Still”
  • Sondra Kelly-Green of Lincoln City, Oregon, for “Crashing”
  • Angelina Menezes of Passaic, New Jersey, for “The Road to Home”
  • Gabriella Mirollo of New York, New York, for “Hide in Plain Sight”
  • Jon Way of Yonkers, New York, for “White”
  • Julie Zapoli of Columbia, South Carolina, for “Emerging”
There are currently no comments.