2003 Results

Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition
2003 Contest Winners Announced

First Place

Anne Earney of St. Louis, Missouri, for “The End of the Cycle”

Second Place

Joseph Starr of Denver, Colorado, for “Every Inch a Wolf”

Third Place

Jonathan Sanchez of Charleston, South Carolina, for “Heroin Story”


(listed in no particular order)

  • Mary Stepp of Carbondale, Illinois, for “Red Clouds Breaking”
  • Mark Schafron of Gardner, Massachusetts, for “One Trip Across”
  • Emily Polk of Berkeley, California, for “The Day Daddy Got Mama Out of the Tree”
  • James W. Wray, Jr., of Ramona, California, for “Bread Crumbs From the Master’s Table”
  • Ruth A. Barrett of Stratford, Ontario, Canada, for “Six-Pack Thompson”
  • Elizabeth Gittens of Warren, Massachusetts, for “Through the Trees”
  • Jay Prefontaine of Charleston, Illinois, for “Small Engine Repair”
  • Laurel Ostrow of St. Paul, Minnesota, for “Tilling Light”
  • Dana Cann of Bethesda, Maryland, for “Crash Claims One on Pass”
  • Mal King of Santa Paula, California, for “Frogs and Front Porch Philosophy”
  • Stephanie Garber of Worthington, Ohio, for “The Pernicious Hour”
  • Thomas Locicero of East Islip, New York, for “Genealogy”
  • Lorraine Kemp of Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada, for “Speechless”
  • Zachary Cotler of Healdsburg, California, for “Last Son”
  • Praveen Asthana of San Jose, California, for “Caravan of Flawed Women”
  • Steve Hermanos of San Francisco, California, for “Perfect Control”
  • Jessica Mae Pavlas of Westlake, Ohio, for “Young Woman”
  • Kelly Jo Weiner of Lino Lakes, Minnesota, for “The Lawd and George Hadley”
  • Martin Lindauer of Daly City, California, for “The Book Lover”
There are currently no comments.